Frankfurt - Frankfurt
Frankfurt

Our city

‘I have need of Thee! From the spirits that I called Sir, deliver me!’. Many people know this quote from school where students have to recite the poem ‘the Sorcerer’s Apprentice’ by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe as homework. The poem is still a favourite of most German teachers and up until today, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe is the most famous celebrity born in Frankfurt. Numerous public places are named after him and he is still one of the main reasons for which Germany is called the ‘land of poets and thinkers’.

  • Römer

    Römer

    Römerberg 27

    The ‘Römer’ of Frankfurt is located in the historic city centre at the Roman Hill and is one of the city’s most important landmarks. Since 1405, the Römer has been the city hall of Frankfurt. After heavy destruction in World War II, the Römer was reconstructed. Today only the Römer Hall and the Schwanen Hall remain as medieval testimonials. The Römer is mostly a tourist attraction and landmark, however, some still call the building their workplace: the balcony built in 1900 was regularly used as a public stage for the German Football World Champions up until 2006.

  • The Old Opera

    The Old Opera

    Opernplatz 1

    The Old Opera at Opernplatz is a jewel of Frankfurt, both inside and outside. Established in 1880, the building´s halls are used for more than 400 events every year, including concerts of classic and modern music, congresses and many more. The Old Opera was partly destroyed by bombs toward the end of World War II. After four decades of reconstruction, the opera was opened again as a modern concert hall in 1981. Guided tours tell the history of this amazing building from a whole different perspective compared to that of a guest attending a concert.

  • The Fox and Hound

    The Fox and Hound

    Niedenau 2

    If a ‘very British’ atmosphere is what you seek, you will have a great time in the Fox and Hound. This classic English pub features authentic furniture and a desirable menu. Pub connoisseurs will surely find everything they are looking for. Lamb, fish & chips and many other typical dishes are available. If you prefer liquids, you´ll also find a large variety of these in the Fox and Hound. Well then, pay the Fox and Hound a visit and enjoy the British atmosphere!

  • Frankfurter Botschaft

    Frankfurter Botschaft

    Westhafenplatz 6 - 8

    The restaurant ‘Frankfurter Botschaft’ is known for fine dining at the Westhafen, which overlooks the Main River and the busy harbor of Frankfurt. Opening hours are Monday to Friday from 11.30 am to midnight and Saturday from 6 pm to midnight. The rotunda of the restaurant offers a clear, appealingly, yet minimalist interior design and an amazing view. Whenever the weather favors it, BBQ, snacks, ice cream and cold drinks are served at the beach outside the restaurant, offering space for 250 guests.

Frankfurt - Frankfurt
Frankfurt

Unsere Stadt

„Die ich rief, die Geister, werd’ ich nun nicht los.“ Dieses Zitat aus „Der Zauberlehrling“ kennen heute noch viele aus ihrer Schulzeit, als sie die Aufgabe bekamen, es auswendig zu lernen. Das Lieblingsgedicht vieler Lehrkräfte wurde vom berühmtesten Frankfurter verfasst, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Er ist noch heute Namensgeber für viele öffentliche Orte in der ganzen Stadt. Goethe war und ist bis heute einer der Hauptgründe, dass Deutschland das Land der Dichter und Denker wurde.

  • Römer

    Römer

    Römerberg 27

    Der Frankfurter Römer befindet sich im Herzen des historischen Altstadtkerns am Römerberg; mit seiner markanten Treppengiebelfassade ist er ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Seit dem Jahr 1405 beherbergt der Römer das Rathaus von Frankfurt. Aufgrund der starken Zerstörungen im Zweiten Weltkrieg enthält der Römer nur noch die Römer- und die Schwanenhalle sowie den Kaisersaal als mittelalterliche Zeugnisse. Neben Touristenmagnet und Wahrzeichen ist der Römer auch Arbeitsplatz: Der 1900 angebaute Balkon war bis 2006 regelmäßig die Bühne für die deutschen Fußballweltmeister.

  • Alte Oper

    Alte Oper

    Opernplatz 1

    Die Alte Oper am Opernplatz im Frankfurter Zentrum ist innen und außen ein Schmuckstück der Stadt. In dem Bauwerk aus dem Jahr 1880 finden jährlich über 400 Veranstaltungen in mehreren Sälen statt. Neben Konzerten mit klassischer und moderner Musik werden auch Kongresse und andere Events durchgeführt. Die Alte Oper wurde am Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges teilweise zerstört; nach rund vier Jahrzehnten Aufbauarbeit erfolgte 1981 hinter der historischen Fassade die Wiedereröffnung eines modernen Konzerthauses. Die angebotenen Besichtigungstouren zeigen die Oper aus einem ganz anderen Blickwinkel als bei einem Konzertbesuch.

  • The Fox and Hound

    The Fox and Hound

    Niedenau 2

    Wer es „very british“ mag ist im Fox and Hound in Frankfurt hervorragend aufgehoben. Das englische Pub überzeugt mit seiner stilechten Einrichtung und mit seiner Speise- und Getränkekarte. Alles was der Fan eines Pubs sucht, ist hier zu finden. Lamm, Fish & Chips und viele andere typische Gerichte kann man hier probieren. Dazu kann man sich die flüssigen Spezialitäten von der Insel schmecken lassen. Also gehen Sie ins Fox and Hound, verbringen Sie einen Abend in britischem Ambiente.

  • Frankfurter Botschaft

    Frankfurter Botschaft

    Westhafenplatz 6-8

    Das Restaurant Frankfurter Botschaft bietet seinen Gästen neben einer exzellenten Küche einen wunderbaren Blick auf den Main und das bunte Hafentreiben. Das Lokal ist Montag - Freitag von 10:00 - 24:00 Uhr geöffnet (Samstag 18:00 - 24:00 Uhr, Sonntag geschlossen). Die Rotunde des Restaurants erwartet die Besucher nach dem Entree durch die Bar mit einem klaren, zurückhaltenden Design und einer traumhaften Aussicht. Bei schönem Wetter bietet der Strand mit Sand und Sonnenschirmen Platz für 250 Besucher. Serviert werden BBQ, Snacks, Eis und kühle Drinks.