Remscheid - Remscheid
Remscheid

Our city

When people today hear the word ‘physicist’, the first thing they think of is probably ‘Big Bang Theory’ and its main characters Sheldon, Leonard, Howard and Rajesh. A pioneer in physics people tend to forget was Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen. He is a Nobel Prize winner who was born in Remscheid and invented the X-ray. Being a romantic physicist, he convinced his wife to be the first test subject of this new method. As he X-rayed her hand, her bones became visible for the first time.

  • German Röntgen Museum

    German Röntgen Museum

    Schwelmer Strasse 41

    Remscheid-Lennep is a former textile manufacturing city that also has the nickname ‘Röntgentown’. The reason is simple. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen was born in 1845 (1845 - 1923) into a family of textile manufacturers in the small clothmaking town of Lennep where he also spent his early years, even though he showed no interest in his forefathers’ profession. While working at the University of Würzburg in 1895, he discovered rays of radiation that are now commonly known as X-rays. Röntgen’s discovery revolutionized medical diagnostics and paved the way for many high-tech applications.

  • The German Tool Museum

    The German Tool Museum

    Cleffstrasse 2 - 6

    From a hand axe to high-tech machines of the digital age, the German Tool Museum is unique in Germany and features an extensive collection of tools from the Stone Age to the 21st century. Its location in Remscheid is no coincidence: Remscheid has been an important centre for tool manufacturing for multiple centuries, and the region is still home to many craftsmen and inventors. Numerous products started their conquest of the world from Remscheid, which became famous in return. Craftsmen and DIY enthusiasts will certainly have a great time in the museum, yet it is generally interesting for everyone.

  • Bridge Park Müngsten

    Bridge Park Müngsten

    Müngstener Brückenweg 71

    The Bridge Park was set up right underneath the bridge of Müngsten. It was opened in 2006 in the shadow of Germany’s highest railroad bridge. Visitors of this park, which is situated in an alluvial forest, can ride a hand-operated transporter bridge from one side of the river to the other. Besides the transporter bridge, there is also a theme park where guests can solve puzzles.

  • ErlebBar

    ErlebBar

    Hindenburgstrasse 8

    The ‘ErlebBar’ is located in Hindenburgstraße, right in downtown Remscheid. In a modern and relaxed atmosphere, visitors can enjoy regional drinks and Bergisch specialties or purchase them as souvenirs. The cozy ‘living room’ with a chimney is a popular meeting place among locals for a beer after work. During the day, the bar offers lunch and rooms for business meetings. There is also a large function room called the ‘Knöterkiste’ which can be booked for events.

Remscheid - Remscheid
Remscheid

Unsere Stadt

Was ist eine Dröppelmina? Ein Begriff der die Bewohner der meisten Regionen Deutschlands zum Stutzen bringt, ist in Remscheid und im Bergischen Land seit eh und je Inbegriff einer gemütlichen Kaffeetafel. Aus der zinnernen, bauchigen Kaffeekanne auf drei Füßen „dröppelt“ der Kaffee aus dem Zapfhahn in die Tasse. Traditionell werden dazu frisch gebackene Waffeln, Milchreis und heiße Kirschen oder deftige Stullen serviert.

  • Deutsches Röntgen-Museum

    Deutsches Röntgen-Museum

    Schwelmer Straße 41

    Röntgenstadt nennt sich die ehemalige Tuchmacherstadt Lennep heute. Aus gutem Grund: Hier wurde Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (1845 - 1923) geboren, berühmtester Sohn der Stadt. Obwohl er aus einer alten Tuchmacherfamilie stammte, hatte er mit diesem Handwerk nichts im Sinn: Der geniale Physiker entdeckte 1895 die Strahlen, die heute die ganze Welt als Röntgenstrahlen kennt. So kann man getrost von einer der bedeutendsten Erfindungen bzw. Entdeckungen der Menschheit sprechen, denn eine Vielzahl von Krankheiten und Gebrechen wären sonst nicht entdeckt worden.

  • Deutsches Werkzeugmuseum

    Deutsches Werkzeugmuseum

    Cleffstraße 2 - 6

    Vom Faustkeil der Steinzeit bis zum Hightech-Gerät im Computerzeitalter: Das Deutsche Werkzeugmuseum zeigt, was Menschen erfunden und entwickelt haben. Dabei ist es kein Zufall, dass das Museum in Remscheid zu finden ist. Die Stadt ist seit Jahrhunderten bedeutendes Zentrum der Werkzeugindustrie und Heimat vieler Erfinder und Tüftler. Viele Produkte wurden von hier in die ganze Welt exportiert und machten Remscheid berühmt. Dieses Museum ist nicht nur für Bastler und Heimwerker ein Ort, der zu einer Entdeckungsreise einlädt.

  • Brückenpark Müngsten

    Brückenpark Müngsten

    Müngstener Brückenweg 71

    Der Müngstener Brückenpark ist unterhalb der Müngstener Brücke angelegt worden. Im Schatten der höchsten deutschen Eisenbahnbrücke gibt es nun seit 2006 einen Park mit Auenlandschaft, in dem auch eine handbetriebene Schwebefähre gebaut wurde. Sie ist die Hauptattraktion des Brückenparks, da hier die Menschen die Möglichkeit haben, sich aus eigener Kraft von einer Seite des Flusses zur anderen zu befördern. Des Weiteren gibt es noch einen Themenpark, in dem man Rätsel lesen, hören und natürlich beantworten kann.

  • ErlebBar

    ErlebBar

    Hindenburgstraße 8

    Mitten im Herzen Alt-Remscheids befindet sich die ErlebBar in der Hindenburgstraße. In moderner und trotzdem behaglicher Atmosphäre werden hier regionale Getränke und bergische Spezialitäten serviert und als Souvenirs verkauft. Im gemütlichen „Wohnzimmer“ mit Kamin trifft man sich gern auf ein Feierabendbier. Untertags lädt das „Esszimmer“ zum Mittagessen oder bietet ruhige Atmosphäre für Geschäftstermine. Für größere Veranstaltungen steht die „Knöterkiste“ als Gruppenraum zur Verfügung.